Halfway through #30DaysWild – a guest blog from School Gate Sue

How’s your 30 Days Wild going? We’re halfway through now, which we very much hope is bad news as you’re all having such a great time! From our point of view, it’s been a real pleasure to see some of the more imaginative ideas that people have been getting up to. Our personal favourite so far has come from Stuart Edmunds, the Communications Officer at Shropshire Wildlife Trust, who took camera trap footage of local wildlife down to the pub to show the locals.

School Gate Sue, blogger and mum (probably not in that order) from Stratford-Upon-Avon, has enthusiastically taken up the 30 Days Wild challenge and has been keeping us in the loop with all her wild activities. She’s roped the whole family in, and to celebrate the halfway mark she posted yesterday a round up of everything that she’s been doing so far. This blog was originally posted on the Stratford School Gate website, a site for parents in and around Stratford keeping you in touch with all the great local activities and days out for kids.

30dayswild_id2_teal_jpg_82157

Today is 14th June so I’m almost half way through my 30 Days Wild challenge, although I wouldn’t say that it’s been challenging at all.  In fact, more often than not I’ve found myself wondering which ‘wild’ thing I should nominate for that day. Many of my Random Acts of Wildness have been smaller things such as stopping to actually listen the birds singing on my walk into town or walking around the garden barefoot and feeling the grass between my toes.

4th June - doing the laundry barefoot - copyright School Gate Sue 2015
4th June – doing the laundry barefoot – copyright School Gate Sue 2015

That’s not to say, however, that I’ve not managed some bigger Acts too.  The highlight, so far, has definitely been finding a hedgehog snuffling around in my garden!  I’ve never actually seen a real hedgehog before (not counting the unfortunate ones that didn’t know the Green Cross Code) so to spot one in my own garden was amazing.  I’ve been putting out some peanut butter every night since then and something has been eating it overnight.  Yesterday I borrowed a ‘night vision’ camera from my father-in-law and I can’t wait to get it set up so I can find out if it is actually my spiky friend that I’ve been feeding.

3rd June - hedgehog snuffling its way through the garden - copyright School Gate Sue 2015
3rd June – hedgehog snuffling its way through the garden – copyright School Gate Sue 2015

My daughter thinks that one of my most random (for random read embarrassing) Acts of Wildness was when I gave all of the Brownies in her Pack a small sachet of cress seeds and asked them to grow them at home and bring them back to show us the following week.  Several of the girls did bring them back in to proudly show me – hope they enjoyed eating it in an egg sandwich…

1st June - cress packs - copyright School Gate Sue 2015
1st June – cress packs – copyright School Gate Sue 2015

I’ve done some bird ‘twitching’ too and my spots include coots, geese, swans, Canada geese, a heron, woodpeckers, pheasants, blue tits, pigeons, sparrows, blackbirds and numerous others that I’m ashamed to say I didn’t recognise.  Note to self to look them up in my bird book!

I’m very pleased to sat that I have managed to get my children involved too and last weekend whilst out on a bike ride, we went foraging for elderflowers which we made into a delicious elderflower cordial.  It was so easy to do, I can certainly recommend that you try it yourself.

7th June - cordial making - copyright School Gate Sue 2015
7th June – cordial making – copyright School Gate Sue 2015

We’ve also been keeping a close eye on the salad and radishes that we planted at the start of the 30 days and making sure they’ve been watered every day.  They’re coming on nicely and we’re hopeful that they’ll be ready for tasting before the end of June.

I’ve had a great time being wild in June so far and my plans for the next few weeks involve visiting some local gardens, making a bee waterer and using some of the photos of nature that I’ve been taking.

It’s not too late to join in so if you feel like doing something wild too please visit http://wtru.st/30DaysWild to find out how you can get involved.

Sue

Do keep following the blog and #30DaysWild on Twitter and Facebook, both for inspiration and to let us know the ways that you’ve been going wild!

1 thought on “Halfway through #30DaysWild – a guest blog from School Gate Sue”

Leave a Reply

