#30DaysWild: adventures of two work experience students part 1

From mid-February to mid-March 2015, Warwickshire Wildlife Trust’s Marketing Team had two work experience students join us from the Peter Jones Enterprise Academy in Coventry: Rosa and Roxy. Their month with us seemed like the ideal time to do a trial run of 30 Days Wild, especially as they wouldn’t have really described themselves as connected to nature at the beginning of the month. However, they were very up for a new challenge and got straight into the spirit of 30 Days Wild. Over the next three nights we’ll be posting some of the highlights from their month, and we’ve also uploaded some videos of their adventures to our Youtube channel.

Rosa and Roxy - copyright Matt Cox (WWT) 2015
Rosa and Roxy – copyright Matt Cox (WWT) 2015

What’s all the fuss about birdwatching? – by Rosa Gurnett

Copyright Rosa Gurnett 2015
Copyright Rosa Gurnett 2015

I ventured out of my outdoor comfort zone today, by trying something totally new – birdwatching. Feeling slightly apprehensive, I borrowed a pair of binoculars and headed straight for the hides, excited for what I might see. At first I imagined I’d be out of place, but it was soon made apparent that my lack of equipment and clothing was no issue, as a friendly gentleman directed me to his recommended hide. On entering I was instantly drawn to the terrific view before me, and suddenly realized why birdwatching is so rewarding and enjoyable. I found myself fixed to a nervy looking bird, with black coat and red beak, which was repeatedly splashing in and out of the water.

View from the bird hide onto East Marsh Pool - copyright Rosa Gurnett 2015
View from the bird hide onto East Marsh Pool – copyright Rosa Gurnett 2015

To my amazement the observations I’d made on the Moorhen were apparently true, as the panel behind me described them as ‘a nervous and shy water bird’ who are ‘rarely seen far from land’. This point reiterated to me the fact that all animals have personalities, characteristics and emotions and made me long for more than 30 minutes outside so I could analyse another bird.

Copyright Rosa Gurnett 2015
Copyright Rosa Gurnett 2015

I can honestly say that my first experience of birdwatching was extremely enjoyable and will certainly not be my last. The most interesting part was being able to watch the bird’s behaviour in its natural habitat, without the disturbance of noise pollution or unwanted litter.

Copyright Rosa Gurnett 2015
Copyright Rosa Gurnett 2015

Watching the moorhen make authentic movements got me in touch with nature that little bit more. The reserve at Brandon Marsh was the perfect place for me to discover birdwatching; with such idyllic settings and so many more species to explore. I can’t wait until next time.

Copyright Rosa Gurnett 2015
Copyright Rosa Gurnett 2015

Watch out tomorrow evening for a new post from Rosa about volunteering. And remember to keep us updated on your 30 days using #30DaysWild on Facebook, Twitter, or Instagram.

Leave a Reply

