Marathon effort to save the wild child – on your marks!

CR1_7270.jpg
‘The 2014 London Marathon’ Copyright Virgin Money London Marathon 2016.

Welcome to the regular blog post following my preparation  for the Virgin Money London Marathon 2016 on April 24th.  I’m a seasoned half marathon runner but the 26.2 miles have always eluded me; however now it is time to up the distance (before I get too old and my knees fail)!  The cause is important – to save the Wild Child and I am raising money which will allow the Trust’s Education Team deliver outreach sessions to a children’s centre in Coventry bringing children and their families closer to nature, creating lifelong memories while improving their health and wellbeing. 

So what is the cause? Can you remember when you used to climb trees and build dens, when the days were long and you went home when you were hungry or it was dark? Today, children live in a different world where such memories are rare.  Modern life finds our children disengaged with the outdoors and this in turn is affecting their physical and mental health and wellbeing.

With your vital support, I am hoping to raise a minimum of £3,600 to deliver activities that will build confidence in the outdoors and engage young people with their local wild patch. The Trust’s hope is that the children will stay wild for the rest of their lives and become the future voice for nature and appreciate our valuable wildlife.

So, to the training.  I have embarked on a 17 week programme that will get me round the route in a decent time – I’m hoping for sub 4 hours.  I aim to keep you posted every fortnight on the trials and tribulations that training for a serious distance brings and bring you along on the journey all the way to the big smoke.  I’m currently in week two of the seventeen, and my regular two/ three runs a week over December (trying to maintain a good level of fitness above the effects of Christmas food and over indulgence) has bought me into the New Year with a bump.  I’m now out a minimum four times a week and running an average of five miles each time, my training plan is the gift that keeps on giving or rather adding miles on week by week!

As I now enter week three and four, where there is a predicted change in the weather, I will report back in a fortnight to let you know on how many miles I have completed so far.  Any guesses in advance?

To keep my motivation up, I would really appreciate your support.  It will help me focus and keep me plodding the streets knowing all my effort will make a real difference.  You can donate here and see how my fundraising effort is going so far!  Thank you!

Karl

6 thoughts on “Marathon effort to save the wild child – on your marks!”

Leave a Reply

