Marathon Effort to save the Wild Child – Week 6…

20160202_121707

Welcome to the regular blog post following my preparation  for the Virgin Money London Marathon 2016 on April 24th.  I’m a seasoned half marathon runner but the 26.2 miles have always eluded me; however now it is time to up the distance (before I get too old and my knees fail)!  The cause is important – to save the Wild Child and I am raising money which will allow the Trust’s Education Team deliver outreach sessions to a children’s centre in Coventry bringing children and their families closer to nature, creating lifelong memories while improving their health and wellbeing.

So week 6, done.  Only 11 to go and whilst the last two weeks have had their ups and downs, the training is going well.  Basically I am managing it and I am injury free at this moment in time – so I am content with that.

Injuries are my greatest fear and there have been the odd pull or tweak but so far so good.  I think the fact I entered my 37th year last week perhaps meant subconsciously getting older and injuries are more prominent in my mind.  What also doesn’t help is your eldest daughter proudly saying that you are closer to 70 than the day you were born – at 6 I should really applaud her maths skills but it did make me shudder – a bit.

I did run on my birthday so hopefully that demonstrates my commitment to this challenge and whilst its been dark, wet, miserable and really windy – which makes it a lot tougher (and sometimes feels like you are actually going backwards) I hope its all worth it.  My birthday did make me reflect on my childhood which was fortunately spent more outside than inside and therefore gave me a renewed vigour to raise as much as I can for my cause.  The first few donations have started to trickle in so thanks to you who have donated so far.

One thing (or rather two) that has suffered in recent weeks are my running trainers.  These have done many miles and are wearing out so as a birthday treat, and to ensure I’m not pounding the streets of London in bare feet I need to buy some new ones.  Either that or I could paint my big toes white/grey. So next time I blog you might see my new foot attire – but not sure what colour to go for as white doesn’t seem to be a good idea!

20160204_205806
We’ve got no sole, man.

To keep my motivation up, I would really appreciate your support.  It will help me focus and keep me plodding the streets knowing all my effort will make a real difference.  You can donate here and see how my fundraising effort is going so far!  Thank you!

Karl

You can read the previous instalment of Karl’s marathon blog here

Leave a Reply

