MARATHON EFFORT TO SAVE THE WILD CHILD – Week 8

20160219_125239[1]
New running shoes – the “before” photo.
Welcome to the regular blog post following my preparation  for the Virgin Money London Marathon 2016 on April 24th.  I’m a seasoned half marathon runner but the 26.2 miles have always eluded me; however now it is time to up the distance (before I get too old and my knees fail)!  The cause is important – to save the Wild Child and I am raising money which will allow the Trust’s Education Team deliver outreach sessions to a children’s centre in Coventry bringing children and their families closer to nature, creating lifelong memories while improving their health and wellbeing.

So I’m approaching half way.  In honesty the last couple of weeks haven’t been particularly productive in terms of training but I have fairly good excuses – a cold and moving house.  Of course the first is unavoidable and its daft to train through it but the second really does take up a lot of time.  I have managed however a good pattern of runs with no long breaks so whilst my distances have dropped a little, the fitness remains!

As I stare over the precipice of half way, it in fact means my distance will soon surpass the half marathon distance of 13.1 miles.  The first 8 weeks are spent achieving fitness and condition with the last 9 weeks building stamina for distance.  Therefore the second half is harder than the first but I’m ready and up for it.  I have the Coventry half marathon on Sunday the 28th of February and this should give me a good launch pad to build the miles steadily over the next few weeks.

The race day is only 60 or so days away from now, and I had a nervous pang of excitement/disbelief/denial/anticipation as I visited London this weekend.  I didn’t walk the route or visit the start line or anything but just being the capital gave me a bit of a buzz for what’s coming.  It also made me realise that being in Warwickshire, we have an abundance of nature on our doorstep that we should embrace.  There is of course wildlife in London but you really have to look – apart from the naturalised ring-necked parakeets that fly around Hyde Park squawking away.  But it made me think about my cause and how easily nature could be avoided in every day life living in a predominantly urban environment.  Therefore lets make sure every child is wild!

Donations are building slowly and thanks to those generous folk out there.  Next time I check in I would have upped my distance past the 13.1 miles so be sure to follow and find out how it goes.

To keep my motivation up, I would really appreciate your support.  It will help me focus and keep me plodding the streets knowing all my effort will make a real difference.  You can donate here and see how my fundraising effort is going so far!  Thank you!

Karl

You can read the previous instalment of Karl’s marathon blog here.

Leave a Reply

