MARATHON EFFORT TO SAVE THE WILD CHILD – WEEK 10

IMG-20160229-WA0001
My marathon support team!

Welcome to the regular blog post following my preparation  for the Virgin Money London Marathon 2016 on April 24th.  I’m a seasoned half marathon runner but the 26.2 miles have always eluded me; however now it is time to up the distance (before I get too old and my knees fail)!  The cause is important – to save the Wild Child and I am raising money which will allow the Trust’s Education Team deliver outreach sessions to a children’s centre in Coventry bringing children and their families closer to nature, creating lifelong memories while improving their health and wellbeing.

 

So the seal is broken, the milestone surpassed and I have completed my first 15 mile long run.  It was tough and it hurt but I think what made it more difficult was the fatigue of running just under 30 miles in the few days leading up to it.  It started with the Coventry half Marathon on Sunday the 28th, which saw a new PB time of 01:37:41.  It was hard but I felt good and had lots of energy so went for it.  In the days following I did a further two long runs and the 15 miler happened to be on Saturday in horizontal sleet – nice.

You really cant underestimate the significance of the longer distances as I am quickly learning, and after 2 hours on your feet, even with all the training leading up to it at shorter distances, you very much start to feel muscles in places you didn’t think you had them.  There is of course the “rubbing” as well but I’m not going into that just yet.

Some statistics for you at week 10 of training. Total distance 190 miles, total time 25 hours and 30 minutes and calories burned 23,985.  That probably explains why I am constantly hungry  and my muscles are stiff from top to toe.  I’m certainly fitter but my body is slowly telling me its starting to have enough!

What has been enjoyable though is the emerging signs of spring. Every time I see hawthorn coming into leaf, a primrose poking through or robins fighting for territory in the hedgerows it draws me back to the aim of my effort.  Some children don’t get the benefit of these sights or enjoy these sounds and therefore every aching muscle fibre is worth it.

Over the next two weeks I have an 18 miler and 20 miler coming up.  Its hard already but I feel its just about to get a lot harder…………

To keep my motivation up, I would really appreciate your support.  It will help me focus and keep me plodding the streets knowing all my effort will make a real difference.  You can donate here and see how my fundraising effort is going so far!  Thank you!

Karl

You can read the previous instalment of Karl’s marathon blog here

Leave a Reply

