MARATHON EFFORT TO SAVE THE WILD CHILD – COMPLETED!

470780_227103928_XLarge.jpg

Welcome to the regular blog post following my preparation  for the Virgin Money London Marathon 2016 on April 24th.  I’m a seasoned half marathon runner but the 26.2 miles have always eluded me; however now it is time to up the distance (before I get too old and my knees fail)!  The cause is important – to save the Wild Child and I am raising money which will allow the Trust’s Education Team deliver outreach sessions to a children’s centre in Coventry bringing children and their families closer to nature, creating lifelong memories while improving their health and wellbeing.

It’s done and just over a month ago I completed the London marathon and what a fantastic event it was.  It was better than I could have ever imagined and will stay with me for a long, long time.  My injuries did rear their ugly head but it only took away from my time and not the satisfaction of getting round.  I came in at 4 hours, 24 minutes and 35 seconds, which wasn’t in the sub 4 hours I was hoping for but my knee was telling me to stop at mile 20 but I battled on and crossed the finish line.

Having your name on your shirt definitely helps and the crowd support was excellent as you are cheered from the moment the starting gun goes all the way to the finish. Competing in the race you also get to see parts of the marathon that you don’t see on the telly and they really lift you – like jostling with spider man at the start, being sprayed with the roadside showers, people turning their balconies into DJ booths blaring out the “eye of the tiger”and near the latter stages, kind St John’s paramedics wafting great handfuls of Vaseline at runners for the sores. Thankfully I came through unscathed!

 

Apart from fulfilling my personal ambition, the money raised which currently stands at £1900 will make a huge difference to the young lives of the children at the Tile Hill Children Centre.  I am just as excited to see these sessions take place as much as I was running the marathon so the sooner we can engage the next generation into the outdoors and connect them with nature the better.  Look out on our website and magazine for progress on these and the smiles they will bring too!

 

Thank you to all that supported me and donated to the cause – its going to make an incredible difference.  If you would still like to donate you can here and help me get to £2000 which would be fabulous.

So what’s my next challenge I hear you cry?  Well, I need to sort my knees out but that should be easily done.  However, I definitely want to run another marathon as 26.2 miles and I have some unfinished business – I know I can run it in sub 4 so when the registration for the 2017 London ballot opens next week, I’ll be there!

Karl

You can read the previous instalment of Karl’s marathon blog here.

Leave a Reply

